An Introduction to 7 of the Most Popular Social Networks for Business

The Inbound Internet Marketing Blog HubSpot recently did a fine article on “An Introduction to 7 of the Most Popular Social Networks for Business”. They cover Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, YouTube, Quora and Google+ in a ‘getting to know’ and ‘what’s the superpower’ format like this:

Getting to Know Google+, The Search Optimizer

Google+ launched business pages in fall of 2011, at which point Google+ usage picked up as brands started creating their own pages and building their following. But since then, its been reported that usage has significantly decreased — eMarketer reported that users only spend an average of 3.3 minutes on Google+ in a single session, down from 5.1 minutes in November 2011. Yikes. Looks like it’s not incredibly active as a social network … so what’s the value? The value comes from its SEO support.

Google+’s Superpower

When you post your content to Google+, you’re making it more likely your company’s content will rank well in Google’s SERPs. That’s because, much to the dismay of many other social networks, Google is considering factors such as +1’s of content when deciding how high to rank a piece of content. Google also started to index and feature Google+ status updates, author names, and ‘Add to Circles’ buttons in search results, making your activity on Google+ even more important for a strong organic search presence.” Get the rest here: An Introduction to 7 of the Most Popular Social Networks for Business.

When the history of the e1evation is written this will go down as the month when I finally became a fan of Google+. Those of you who follow this blog know that I am an unabashed Google fan boy — I feel more strongly about Google and the way their technologies and products empower me than I ever did about Apple during the 15 years I bled six colors and the three years I worked there. Please believe me when I say that’s a mighty strong statement.

You would think then that a guy like me would have been pretty excited about the launch of Google+. Unfortunately, that was not the case. Clients and students alike note that I have struggled with this new social network. Most of my difficulty comes from the lack of a read/write API for Google+ and while Google claims this is a feature of Google+ I believe it’s a bug. That having been said, new tools are slowly appearing that make Google+ easier to use. When you consider Google+’s ‘superpower’ I believe it’s time for those who have been hanging back to make the move to Google+. I encourage you to follow me on this journey as I’ll be sharing tools and tactics I learned along the way as I incorporate Google+ as a major player in the ‘e1evation workflow’. Questions? Feedback? Comment, call or ‘connect’ so we can talk about how this applies to you and your organization…

