How to Use Social Media as a Sales Tool: 4 Tips

Tom Searcy addresses a tough issue relative to social media and business development in Inc. magazine…

I just celebrated my 100th discussion on the same topic with the same client. We talked yet again about selling and social media. Before your eyes glaze over, let me quickly add that the conversation ended with a meaningful shift in point of view for me. I’ve decided that the idea becomes much more valuable if I look at it as “social selling” rather than “social media.”… The takeaway? “Through a market- and solution-specific effort, you can find great opportunities. Want to know more? In my interview with Heinz, he gives a great case-study example of how a world-class sales rep has been blowing away her quota using just these tools.” Go to the source if you’d like Tom’s perspective and get his 4 points: How to Use Social Media as a Sales Tool: 4 Tips | Inc.com

Me? I’ll be interested to read Heinz’s free ebook which I’ve already downloaded but my thought is that social media is not a silver bullet; only one of the many things that you should do if you want to become the obvious expert in your field. Comment or ‘connect’ so we can talk about how this applies to you and your organization…

